The Light We Lost – Jill Santopolo

Achingly beautiful, contemplative and heart-breaking. The Light We Lost was one of those books that I just clicked with in every way. Lucy and Gabe first meet on September 11. The September 11, while living in New York this day, this experience has a profound effect on both of them and helps set their future course. We watch as they fall in love. First love. We watch as is breaks. We watch as their paths continuously cross, back and forth. Their connection is undeniable but are they meant to only be each others first love or is there more in life for them?

The Light We Lost is a story of love and life, about relationships and decisions and dreams. Set around one life changing event we follow Gabe and Lucy as they meet on a day burned into all of our brains. I have to say I love every word of this book from the very beginning to the end. I was hooked in by the way it was written. I loved watching the relationship between Gabe and Lucy evolve, learning information only as it was relevant, the reader becomes just as intertwined as they are.

This read is an absolute heart-breaker, for fans of The Notebook or Me Before You, but don’t be fooled into thinking it is just a sappy, indulgent love story – it was much more than that. It is an ode to our hopes and dreams, our promises, our true selves and the compromises we need to make in order to fins happiness. Achingly bittersweet I finished this one with tears rolling down my face and in all honesty it was one of the best books I read in 2017. One I urge you to pick up.

Leave a comment