A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness

A Monster Calls was an exquisite middle-grade novel as compelling to children as to adults. The monster arrives at 12:07 but he isn’t nearly as scary as the nightmare Conor has each night. The monster has three tales to tell him before he must tell his own. The reader follows along Conor’s tale of grief and invisibility and growing up.

 

I absolutely fell in love with this book from the very beginning and could not put it down. In fact I read it in less than two hours in a single sitting. If you are going to read this I do highly recommend sourcing the illustrated copy – pictures will not do this stunning copy justice. The result is such a visually pleasing and immersive experience with the illustrations setting the tone of the novel.

 

This is one book well worth the hype surrounding it. Ness is an absolute wizard weaving a tale of growing up, grief, good and bad and all the complexities in between. I loved the fantastical fable element to the novel and found it fit the moral of the story perfectly. I sobbed my heart out reading this one and think it is a must read for anyone. I highly recommend seeing what all the fuss is about. It is a book I’m still thinking about several days later and a book I know I will pick up again and again. Five stars to this memorable novel. Please read.

 

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Leave a Reply

