Sick Week Reading List

I had four wisdom teeth removed last week (yes, poor me, sympathy please!). The first thing I did when I found out I had to have them removed and would need a week off work was plan what books I was going to read. I mean I was going to be sitting at home all week I needed to be kept entertained. But also, I was going to be distracted by a bit of pain so I needed to be savvy about my selections. What did I select to keep the boredom at bay? Well cast your eyes below for my sick read suggestions.

 

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone & Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J. K. Rowling 

Why? Because Harry Potter! Because Monday 26/06 is the twentieth anniversary of Harry Potter kicking off my five week long reread. Because what is better than a pair of the comfiest old shoes that you will never give away. That’s why.

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff & Vicious by V. E. Schwab

Why? Because fantasy is another familiar go to. There is nothing better than escaping to a completely new world and immersing yourself in it to escape every day drudgeries of, lets say sickness or pain. I have heard so many rave reviews of Nevernight I actually astruggled saving it until my sick week. Last year I fell in love with V. E. Schwabs’ A Darker Shade of Magic trilogy and thought I would try my hand at her other adult release, Vicious.

A Dog’s Purpose by W. Bruce Cameron

Why? Because puppies! Dogs are balls of fluffy love and I couldn’t think of anything more comforting than a book about dogs. The concept sounds pretty cool too, basically buddhist reincarnation for dogs as the book lives one dog’s many lives.

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

Why? Because I am well overdue for a reread of this beautiful novel. Because it is gothic and moody and dark, everything that winter is. Because I long to be reunited with the character I fell in love with the first two times I read it. If you haven’t read this book – do it now! It has the most romantic, bookish notion I have ever come across.

 

What do you recommend for sick reading? Any particular genres? Authors? Old favourites? Let me know, I would love to hear your suggestions.

 

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Leave a Reply

