A Conjuring of Light – V. E. Schwab

Finally! The last instalment of my favourite fantasy series of 2016 is here. This was a highly anticipated read of mine and it certainly did not disappoint. A Conjuring of Light tells the third part of the story of Kell, Lila and the three Londons. I won’t go in to much detail describing the plot, assuming if you are bothering to read this you will have already read A Darker Shade of Magic and A Gathering Of Shadows. One thing I will recommend is if you have not read either of the first two books in a while you should definitely brush up on characters and events at the end of the second book before starting this one. I did not and I spend a good fifty pages trying to get my head back in this world and figure out what was going on.

 

I loved every minute of this last book. The book starts are a rather important cliff hanger and the plot doesn’t slow down from there. In fact looking at where the plot begins and seeing just how thick this book it you wonder how much can happen as it feels like you are near the end of this battle as the story begins. However, Schwab just keeps on giving and so much happens in this last instalment. The ending is quite satisfying and although these are adult novels (some very adult moments in the book that may leave you blushing if you read them in public) the ending still has a YA feel to it, essentially good does trump evil, everything you want to happen does indeed happen and while I won’t say that it is predictable, it is along the lines of what you might have expected. I certainly don’t mean this as a criticism. This is what I love about fantasy. Fantasy is my happy place and seriously, these books are my comforting, happy place.

 

What truly makes these novels my happy place are the characters. Nell, Lila, Rhy, Alucard, even Holland I find myself rooting for and loving in their own separate ways. Yes, Holland too because as much as he was always the bad guy, you always knew there was more to him, hoping he had something more to give. My favourite relationships are found in this series. You root for Kell and Lila long before they knew how they felt about it each other and the fact that it doesn’t happen right away adds to the built up tension. Another this I love about this novel is the relationship that existed between Rhy and Alucard, two males. These characters have such tension, which I loved from the beginning and even more so because it felt natural and not just something that Schwab added for diversity sake. Their romance is beautiful and fragile and makes your heart burst.

 

Basically I love everything about this books and know I will relive this series again and again in the future. Do yourself a favour and experience them yourself, particularly if you are a fan of fantasy. I give A Conjuring of Light five of Lila’s knives, ever deadly.

 

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Leave a Reply

