Love & Misadventure – Lang Leav

Lang Leav was suggested to me by several people after I found myself wanting to read and enjoying poetry last year. A fellow Aussie? What could go wrong? I decided to start with her first collection, Love & Misadventure.

 

A Dedication

She lends her pen,

to thoughts of him,

that flow from it,

in her solitary.

For she is his poet,

And he is her poetry.

 

And so begins this collection with this dedication to her partner. Spilt into three parts: Misadventure, The Circus of Sorrows and Love. I loved this collection and marvelled in each of the poems. I loved that Leav’s work is slightly different to other poetry I have been reading and that it includes a bit of rhyme, makes it fun to read aloud, with a rhythm in your head. There was no set format to the poems, some are paragraphs, some are short, some rhyme. It kept the collection flowing and unpredictable. Changing it up, keeping my interest. The poems were short and snappy. Light and fun, despite some of the themes. The themes were relatable and the words true. I thoroughly enjoyed this collection and look forward to reading more of Leav’s work, especially her upcoming debut novel, Sad Girls.

 

If you are a fan of poetry I do recommend this collection. If you aren’t much of a petty reader, I still recommend this collection. Leav’s work is accessible and easy to read so Love & Misadventure is probably a good place to start if you haven’t read a lot of poetry. I look forward to reading this collection and again and working my way through her other works. I give Love & Misadventure four hearts, a beautiful journey we can all relate to.

 

 

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Leave a Reply

