A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J. Maas

Finally, with a week to go until the third book is released, I am on the ACOTAR bandwagon. I read this book in little over 24 hours and have already requested the second instalment at the library. If you have been living under a rock the past year or so and don’t know what this book is about ACOTAR follows Feyre, a poor girl trying to provide for her family by hunting. One day hunting in the woods bordering the wall into the fae realm, Feyre kills a giant wolf in order to protect her own kill. It turns out this wolf was a fae and as punishment for her actions Feyre must decide by forfeiting her life or living out her days in the fae realms.

 

Maas very much has a niche Β and she fills it perfectly. Her fans have a level of dedication to her novels and characters that you rarely see and demonstrates just how well she writes fantasy and builds worlds that readers can immerse themselves in. I found myself invested in the story early on and found it difficult to put down. I didn’t predict all the twists and turns of the novel Β and found myself racing along with the plot. Maas writes intriguing and likeable characters, even the malevolent ones are appealing in their own way.

 

I enjoyed the loose links to Beauty and the Beast. This is effectively an adult version of that story. Much more complex and layered, I loved the feeling of escaping into an adult fairytale. I feel this might be a good starting point for those that are new to fantasy and want to pick something up to try. While the story is high fantasy and very immersive, it still has a familiar concept that might help the transition.

 

This was an easy read that I didn’t want to put down. Maas has done it again and I do plan to follow the series through. i give A Court of Thorns and Roses three roses. I know this may feel a little harsh despite my positive review and if I had of read this five years about I quite possibly would have rated it a full five, but young adult fantasy is not my preferred genre these days. I find I usually only pick these books up occasionally for an easy read. If this is your favourite genre, I guarantee you will love these books.

 

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

5 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

