A Year In Review

Before I had even entertained the idea of writing a blog, I began the year wanting to do more with my reading. I was determined to read harder, to challenge myself, to step outside my comfort zone. I set myself a Goodreads challenge, I planned to document each book I read and my aim was to read as widely as possible. I am so happy to reflect that not only did I complete my challenge but did so only 6 months in the year, increased my challenge and am well on the track to finishing that ahead of schedule. I  documented  as well as reviewed practically every book I read this year. I read so many different books from a variety of different genres, some I thought I would never touch or enjoy. In part I owe this to blogging/bookstagram. First of all having people interested in reading my blog (thank you, I appreciate you all). Second of all, all the amazing recommendations I have found on blogs, bookstagram, from personal recommendations and books received from subscriptions.

 

With your help and my determination I have discovered new authors I know I will come to cherish long into the future, Murakami and Tartt just to name a few. I have forayed into poetry, something I have never picked up of my own volition and fell in love with Rupi Kaur and Amanda Lovelace and am slowing familiarising myself with Walt Whitman. I have discovered series that are new favourites, Justin Cronin’s The Passage and V.E. Schwab’s A Darker Shade of Magic (hurry up February!). Non-fiction books have spoken to my soul and taught me lessons and perspective, When Breath Becomes Air and Redeemable will both be ones I revisit. Mysteries and thrillers have kept me entranced, Kate Morton and Michel Bussi in particular. Science Fiction has surprised me with memorable novels such as The Martian and Ready Player One becoming favourites. I have laughed (The Dressmaker), I have cried (Me Before You), I have been left speechless (A Little Life). I also have a TBR pile of 25 books and absolutely cannot purchase anymore books until the new year! I attended book signings and author talks, listened to book podcasts and fell in love with audiobooks.

 

It has truly been a memorable year and I just cannot wait to see what 2017 brings! Thank you all from the bottom of my heart.

 

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

3 thoughts on “A Year In Review

    1. Sorry for such a long delay – I had an unplanned hiatus. Thank you! The only podcast I have tried so far was Slate’s Audio Book Club that is available on Spotify. I did enjoy it but I bet there are plenty of great ones out there/

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

