Improve Your Reading Life.

This week Penguin shared an old Book Riot post of 40 Tiny Tasks For A Richer Reading Life. If you are a regular reader of my blog, you will know I’m all about challenging yourself when reading. After perusing this list I decided it was time I challenged myself in a new way, taking inspiration from this list.

 

I’m pleased to see that many of these, I already do or have done this year. In fact at least half on this list I have completed, including having conversations about books with someone I have never talked about books with before, rereading a favourite teenage book, attending a reading with an author, watching a movie adaptation, giving my favourite childhood book at a baby shower, listened to an audiobook. Or doesn’t really apply to me like apologising to someone for being snobby about books, letting go a reading prejudice or reading a book from a genre I despise – I am certainly no book snob, I’ll read just about anything and enjoy doing so.

 

Even having completed a good amount of these tasks, there are still plenty of great options to give a go. Therefore, I am picking five tasks from this list to work on in the immediate future. There are certainly more I can work towards and contemplate in the future, however, I am making myself accountable to give the following tasks a go.

 

Read a collection of poetry by a single poet, front-to-back, twice. Wake up 15 minutes earlier than usual to read a poem. Only yesterday I started the first collection of poems I have ever chosen to pick up (apart from high school days). milk and honey by Rupi Kaur is the collection I had chosen and having read a few pages I’m already in love and just know I will definitely be rereading it once I am finished. As a bonus task I’m letting this one lead into waking up 15 minutes earlier to read a poem. My alarm is set, tomorrow morning is the day I’m starting my day differently.

 

Visit your library and ask a librarian for a recommendation. I regularly use my library, but have never thought to use one of the most precious resources there. Librarians clearly have a passion for reading and being so exposed to reading material they would be a wealth of resources, with some amazing recommendations that may not be run of the mill. In fact, I’m a little embarrassed I haven’t thought of this before.

 

Read a play. I haven’t read a play since my high school Shakespeare days (which I actually loved!). The easy choice here would be to read Harry Potter and The Cursed Child, but in all honesty (and I may be shunned here) I don’t really have any interest in reading it despite being a huge fan of the series. Instead, I’m going to go outside the comfort zone and try Twelve Angry Men by Reginald Rose. A great concept, likely to be a great read in a different medium to what I am used to.

 

Listen to a podcast about books. This is a different one for me, that I haven’t ever considered and for no good reason. I love reading, I love talking about books. Why haven’t I thought about this before? I’m excited to try this and have already been looking on Spotify for my first foray.

 

Write in the margins.  I have never been one to write in my books. Never. This one goes again my every instinct. But I’m willing to try it. I’m going to read a book, highlight favourite passages and write comments in the margins. This may be the toughest challenge yet but I will conquer it.

 

There you have it. Some challenges for me to incorporate into my reading life. What about you? What will you try? Make yourself accountable, go outside your boundaries. I’m continuously surprising myself with how much I enjoy it.

 

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

3 thoughts on “Improve Your Reading Life.

  1. I love this little list! I’m going to try and find the whole list and see how many I’ve done and what more i can do. Also I’ve heard great things about Milk and Honey I hope you love the whole thing 🙂

    I love reading plays but I tend to just re-read the same ones lately (mainly Oscar Wilde) although Hamlet was my fave in highschool 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

