Why Did I Buy It?

I haven’t updated you all with my TBR list in a very long time so I decided you were about ready for new insight into what I’m planning to read next. Here is my list with a twist: rather than telling you what these novels are about, I’m going to explain to you my reasoning behind why it is on my TBR list. Why did I buy this book? How did I hear about it? What made my decision for me? Also taking suggestions for which book I read next. After a busy few weeks, feeling a bit off and needing some chill out time I haven’t picked up a serious book in a few weeks and am ready to dive back in!

 

First up Eyrie by Tim Winton. Why did I buy it? Tim Winton, ’nuff said. His work is incredible and speaks to my soul . This is one of his most acclaimed novels and when I saw it at my favourite independent bookshop for less than $1o I knew it was meant to be.

 

Brain on Fire by Susannah Catalan came to my attention by way of another book blogger. Without her suggestion I probably would have not come across this particular one. A buddy read (my favourite thing) was initially planned but life has happened and so it sits on my pile patiently waiting for some love.

 

I have picked up and put down A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James multiple times this year. A book that has won the Man Booker Prize is pretty much guaranteed to be a great, thought-provoking read. What clinched this one for me was reading A Little Life a few months ago. That book blew me away in a way no other book has and from that moment i realised I just had to read the book that edged it out for the prize. A book that was able to do that is a book I need to read!

 

You may remember from a few reviews back a book called Life After Life. A God In Ruins by Kate Atkinson is the companion book to Life After Life. Following the story of Ursula’s brother Teddy I believe this book follows a different format to the original novel. Teddy’s character was intriguing and loveable sparking my desire to follow his story.

 

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte conquered me back in my teenage years. I abandoned this classic after only a few pages. Bring on attempt number two! I had success with her sister Charlotte and Jane Eyre earlier this year and am looking forward to conquering a new classic. Plus if I bought two classics I received a free tote bag, leading me to the next on my list…

 

20,000 Leagues Under The Sea by Jules Verne. This book has been referenced in some great novels, most recently in All The Light We Cannot See as one of the books in braille that Marie-Laure receives form her father. To be honest I just feel the need to see what it’s all about. Not to mention my goal has been to incorporate more classics into my reading pile. These two certainly help bump that number up.

 

Lastly and certainly not the least in my opinion is The Little Friend by Donna Tartt. Tartt drew me in and captivated my imagination with the unforgettable Secret History. That book quickly became a favourite. She demonstrated her impeccable writing skills and character development even in the Goldfinch. It seems only fitting that I finish the holy trilogy and read The Little Friend. Expectation and anticipation are high and I just can’t wait to dive right in.

 

The question is: which book to pick up next? Tell me which one and why. Direction is more than welcome with so many great choices in my pile.

 

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Leave a Reply

