Crown of Midnight, Heir of Fire and Queen of Shadows

Considering I have read these three books in quick succession, I decided I may as well review them together also rather than spam you all with three fairly similar posts in a row. Each of the books in the Throne of Glass series has been a unique book, each playing it’s role in the story of Celaena Sardothian and her quest in life. In short you could easily describe each book with a different purpose. Throne of Glass, which I reviewed earlier this year, was a great example of setting the scene. We meet the important players in the book, Celaena, her triangle of men, the bad guy and everyone in between. We are introduced to the lay of the land, a dominant kingdom with a bloodthirsty past, the destruction of any completion along the way and watch this cycle continue. And it was highly enjoyable and I finished it in no time. Crown of Midnight really focused on building your relationships with the characters. You learn who they truly are, their history and how they came to be where they are now, falling in love with them and caring desperately what happens to them. Essentially ensnaring you, hook, line and sinker. Heir of Fire basically tears s**t up. The plot deepens spinning an intricate web so you see where the series as a whole is going and just how far they have to go. Blowing your mind along every step of the way. Queen of Shadows then brings it all together, tying off a few ends and answers a few questions ready  for the next part of the adventure. Now just to wait until September for the next instalment…


Now to get more in depth of each book on their own. Crown of Midnight was probably my favourite book in the series so far. While I loved Throne of Glass it was a slow (but highly enjoyable) start. There were no moments where I was really shocked or surprised at what happened. I did enjoy this as it set the scene nicely but Crown of Midnight is what cemented my dedication to this series. In Crown of Midnight each of the main characters really came into their own, with us learning more about them. Celaena, Chaol, Dorian and Nehemia are all great characters. Each one I have a lot of love for mostly due to their portrayal in this book. Apart from one major act not a lot happened with the storyline and I appreciated the way Maas set characters up for the rest of the series.


Heir of Fire is where the series really gained momentum. A lot of truths are revealed and the plot takes unexpected turns. Travels to new land, intriguing new characters are all happening adding a new vibe to this instalment. We are introduced to some unusual characters in the form of witches and even have chapters of the book narrated by one of them. Some people weren’t fans of the voice of Manon, however, I quite enjoyed the mix up with an entirely different perspective. The witches are an interesting bunch and I look forward to seeing the role they play in the upcoming novel. Celaena grows  even more as a character and you learn more of her background, which made me love her even more. Although she went through a bit of a stage in the first half of the story which I wanted to slap her out of, but she gets there in the end.


Lastly, Queen of Shadows brings it all together and to my surprise ties off a lot of loose ends. Creating many more, of course, to be followed up in Empire of Storms. We see Celaena return to see much has changed with plenty to do. The witches story becomes richer and more deeply embedded in the plot. The characters go through challenging times and a lot happen. It took me a few days to read this one, compared to the others due to there being so much content and I didn’t want details to be lost if I read it too quickly. The ending left me excited to see where the remainder of the series goes  so now the hard part is just waiting now. Overall, I give each of these book four of Celaena’s daggers, may she continue to kick ass in Empire of Storms.



2 thoughts on “Crown of Midnight, Heir of Fire and Queen of Shadows

  1. Great review! I loved Manon and really enjoyed her chapters. Looking back, I think that Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight could’ve been merged into one book. I think there was too much filler and focus on unneccessary things in Throne of Glass, but I also thought there was a lot of filler in Queen of Shadows. My favorites (so far) of the series are Crown of Midnight and Heir of Fire. I’m looking forward to Empire of Storms!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s