Five Favourites

Seeing as I’ve been writing this blog for a couple of month now I thought it might be nice to give a little of myself. I thought I would share with you today my five favourite books of all time. This was extremely hard! It’s like picking your favourite child (not that I have children) especially when there are sooooo many great books out there! These five are the ones I have reread more times than I can count and the ones I keep coming back to, over and over again! With out further ado here is my list:

 

To Kill A Mockingbird – Harper Lee: I have loved this book since the day I first read it in my year 10 English Class (and that is now over 10 years ago). I will continue to love this book until the day I die. The innocence of Scout, the gentleness of Atticus, the vibrancy of every other character. How can you not love it? There is mystery, action, heavy injustice and some important lessons to be learned. Definitely a classic all should read.

 

The Power of One – Bryce Courtenay: I don’t know what it is about this book that draws me in, but it is probably my most read book of all time. I reread it probably once every 12 months. I just love the beauty of the African culture, the unusual character of Peekay with all his determination and again, the whole host of periphery characters that add so much colour to the book. Another book dealing with prejudice and injustice, this book  give a real snapshot of the imbedded racism present in South Africa. The sequel, Tandia, completes the tale beautifully and heart-renderingly.

 

Harry Potter (as a collective) – J. K. Rowling: I don’t know one person that has read Harry Potter that didn’t love it and I grew up in the right age bracket that these books were life changing. I remember the excitement of waiting for the next book to be released and I remember the devastation when I realised there would be no more. The series is a beautiful tale of growing up, friendship and good triumphing evil, while still being completely relatable to life as a teenager and all the hilarity that goes along with it. There is probably no other series so pivotal in many peoples lives and was able to bring magic/fantasy into popular culture for all to enjoy. Pictured below is my favourite Harry Potter book (although really, it is all splitting hairs).

 

The Book Thief – Markus Zusak: I’m a big fan of historical fiction and this is hands down my favourite tale in this category. No matter how many times I read this book it still manages to destroy me each and every time. In fact I only just finished reading it as an audio book and was driving along sobbing just this weekend. I’m sensing a theme here but the characters within this book are just so beautiful, so vibrant that you can’t help falling in love with them as though they are real people. I also have a thing for books related to death/mortality (see book below, the Lovely Bones etc.) and the narration of this story by Death itself is a highlight and the mental imagery conjured by Zusak is incredible.

 

The Five People You Meet In Heaven – Mitch Albom: I only recently posted a review of this book so don’t really have much more to say without repeating myself, however, I may just a little bit. The story of Eddie and his journey after life is touching and hauntingly beautiful. The concept and lessons held within the book are invaluable and Albom writes this fable flawlessly. Each time this book devastates me and I will never get sick of rereading it.

 

I hope this encourages you to try any of these if you haven’t read them before and I hope they touch your heart as they have touched mine. I would love to hear your thoughts and own Five Favourites!

 

Screenshot_2016-03-07-21-20-16-1

Leave a Reply

