The Ever Growing TBR Pile

Anyone have the problem of the ever growing To Be Read pile? I sure do, especially at the moment. Slowly, slowly I’m working my way through but every time one book bites the dust another makes it’s way to the pile. There could something much worse than the ever growing TBR pile…

 

…an empty TBR pile. Shock, horror! Thankfully there is a never ending supply of great book recommendations to be found.

IMG_20160120_214820

Currently my TBR pile is a mixture of brand new books, second hand books, the odd re-read and borrowed books.

The Border Trilogy by Cormac McCarthy was lent to me by my boss, of all people. We got into a discussion recently after I had just finished reading The Road, also by McCarthy. I found the book quite confronting at times but found myself racing to finish it. I’m not sure I can say I liked it, but I certainly didn’t dislike it. I more appreciated the story McCarthy was telling and the manner in which it was told. Hence, I was given this trilogy to try. I am quite excited to get into this very soon as I quite enjoyed the writing style of McCarthy and look forward to trying it on a (hopefully) less brutal storyline.

The Girl With A Pearl Earring by Tracy Chevalier was a pick up from a second hand bookstore in my area. They were having a moving sale and I managed to pick up 7 books for the price of two from a bookstore, safe to say I was pleased with myself. All I know about this one is that it was made into a movie (which I have not seen). I usually find if they have taken the time to make a book into a movie a great read is often guaranteed. In fact many books that I have a great love for I have discovered in this manner, including Memoirs of a Geisha and This Is Where I Leave You. Given that I don’t know anything else about it I’m excited to see what this novel brings.

For One More Day by Mitch Albom is a beloved re-read. Mitch Albom is one of my favourite authors and I just love the stories he weaves that leave you contemplating life itself. In fact I have read most of his book catalogue with a goal to own all of his novels. I highly recommend anything he has written but my special love goes out to The Five People You Meet In Heaven. If you have not read this book, please do so immediately, you will not be disappointed. This particular story I have not read in a long time, in fact I can barely remember the plot so plan to pick this one up in a quiet moment, as it is quite a short story and will likely only take a day or two.

The Slap by Christos Tsiolkas was another in my second hand bookstore haul. Again, I do not know a lot about this book, only that it was made into a TV mini series. I heard a little about the mini series and thought the concept sounded interesting and the topic of slapping children is so controversial that it would be a thought provoking read. The best part about secondhand book stores is that the price is so great why not try different styles of books that you may not normally read, you never know when you will surprise yourself!

At the Water’s Edge by Sara Gruen was a brand new purchase of mine. I loved her first novel Water For Elephants (another discovery due to making it into a film) and am excited to see what she has written in her new book. A love story with disgraced socialites trying to hunt the Loch Ness monster, I can’t wait to see how this story develops!

Solar by ian McEwan is the last of the pile and also came in my pre-loved book haul. I was a big fan of Atonement (wow, now I realise how many books I’ve read purely from hearing about them from a film adaptation) and saw this book for a great price and thought why not give it a go? The content is quite different to that of Atonement so I will be interested to see how I enjoy it.

Not pictured because they hadn’t been received at the time (but now, thankfully, they are in my hot little hands) are Red Queen and After The Crash. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard is a young adult, fantasy novel that I plan to read following Book Squad, a book club I came across. I haven’t read anything in this genre for such a long time and am excited to return to something so familiar (this was my favourite genre as a teenager). This one heads to the top as my list to keep up with the book discussion. After The Crash by Michel Bussi is a thriller that I read a review of and was hooked by the concept. A lone baby survives a plane crash, but two babies of the same age were on the flight manifest. To which family does this baby belong? The private detective assigned to the case finally discovers the truth just prior to the (then) babies 18th birthday and is murdered before he could breathe a word. Such an exciting plot! Going to be hard to stop myself from starting this one as soon as possible.

The only question is now, what to read next? Then after that, which one next? And so it will continue.

Leave a Reply

